SOPA

Sopa! It just looks like I misspelled the word soap. But this is a really serious issue. I haven’t read much into it because I don’t try to get too involved with politics, because I know that God is in control of everything in the long run and that it will all work out how it’s supposed to.

But, I do know that there is a big issue in America with this new law/bill that could be passed and the way we use the Internet.

(It is very hard to write a blog post when your dog who missed you a lot is jumping all over you trying to lick your face).

However, if this bill is passed, and the government has it’s way and is able to censor and control the Internet and how we use it, I feel like this will have a larger impact on the world today than we could ever imagine. I know for me, it would be horrible. I am on so many different social networking sites and blogs that I would lose all of that. I wouldn’t be able to access my Tumblr, my Facebook would be limited, heck, even running my WordPress could be difficult.

I feel like this bill violates our constitutional rights as well. Part of being American is having one of the most important freedoms in the world: freedom of speech. Blogs are one of the ways we are able to speak freely, we can post what we want, when we want, and how we want, without being judged or ridiculed (to a certain extent). If that is taken away, so is our freedom of speech. I do not like where this issue is headed, and I really hope that this bill is not passed, or is somehow seen as a violation of our God-given rights as Americans.

I guess only the future and time will show us what is really in store.

One response to “SOPA

  1. First of all, I really like your style of writing. I’ve read through a few of your posts and you are a really entertaining writer. I agree with a lot of what you said here. Even though I think that one of the best things about being an American is our freedom of speech, if this law were to be passed there isn’t a whole lot that we can do about it. I have a Tumblr too, and I have enjoyed the few “blackout” days that Tumblr has done. Even though I don’t think it sways Congress one way or another, it does bring awareness to people who don’t understand what is going on. When people see black images instead of posts, it makes the google SOPA.

Leave a Reply

